Jump to content

The Five Love Languages Book Introduction And Review

The Five Love Languages

8 min / Published
By Renew

The Five Love Languages

The Five Love Languages Book Introduction And Review

Many people think that marriage is the grave of love, and a lot of couples fight with each other or have marriage crises because of trivial things. But they are always close to each other when they are in love. So what turns these intimate relationships into ones ripe with conflict? This book will tell us why as well as discuss the primary reason why communication is so important, and how we can express love in proper ways. It also provides effective ways that will point us in the direction of how to resolve marriage crises.


Author : Gary Chapman

Gary Chapman is a prominent relationship coach and a popular lecturer. He has met tons of couples who were faced with marriage crises, but through deep communication he found out that the reason for the marriage crisis was that both the wife and husband used the wrong love languages to get along with each other. After this revelation, he decided to write this book as a way to help people discover their true love languages to enjoy a better marriage.


Overview | Chapter 1

Hi, welcome to Bookey. Today, we will unlock the book by Gary Chapman called “The Five Love Languages.”


It is common that relationships change after marriage, even though many couples were happy when they were in love before that. They may fight with each other more frequently after marriage. More seriously, these conflicts can lead to emotional crises or even divorce. What’s going on? The problem is that we all have different love languages, which means we all have different ways of expressing love.


When getting along with our partner, we express our love based on our own ideas. These different ideas mean people will eventually end up with different love languages. This is the point: Does your partner understand your way of expressing love? Will he or she feel that you love him? This happens because we ignore the fact that everyone has different love languages. Your partner might not feel your love when you express love in your own ways.


Why are love languages important? In the book, the author says that giving and receiving love is at the center of every single adult’s sense of wellbeing. Marriage is designed to satisfy our needs for an intimate relationship and love. Feeling loved is the most important emotional need for us. In his book, the author uses a good metaphor: in every child’s heart, there is an “emotional love tank” waiting to be filled with love. It’s only when a child feels truly loved that he can grow up healthy and happy. However, when the love tank is empty, the child will exhibit problematic behaviors. Adults are the same. If our love tank is empty and we cannot feel loved, our marriage will have problems. So how can we fill our love tank and reap good results in a marriage? The love language teaches us how to fill our love tank in the proper ways, and this book will tell us how to do it in detail.  


Gary Chapman is a prominent relationship coach who has met lots of couples who were faced with marriage issues. Through deep communication, he found that the reason for the marriage crisis was that both partners used the wrong love languages to get along with each other. Therefore, he wrote this book to help people discover their love languages and have a better marriage. His other book, “Things I Wish I'd Known Before We Got Married” discusses common traps that can be found in a marriage. If you are interested in it, please listen to our bookey of that book.


Next, we will cover the essence of “The Five Love Languages” in six parts. We will learn how to discover our partner’s love language as well as our own to have a happy and healthy marriage.


Part One: Love Language #1: Words of Affirmation;


Part Two: Love Language #2: Quality Time;


Part Three: Love Language #3: Gifts;


Part Four: Love Language #4: Acts of Service;


Part Five: Love Language #5: Physical Touch;


Part Six: Discover Your Primary Love Language.


  • Personal Development
  • The Five Love Languages
  • Gary Chapman
Episode ratings
Please log in or sign-up to rate this episode.
About Bookey
A podcast by Renew
A good read, read good books
Episode comments

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

What do you think about this episode? Leave a comment!

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


Important Information

By using this website, you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.